

THE DEAN'S EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH AWARDS AND STATE OF THE COLLEGE ADDRESS

Tuesday, November 1, 2022 | 4:30 PM

WELCOME

Richard L. Page, M.D.Dean, UVM Larner College of Medicine

REMARKS

Kirk Dombrowski, Ph.D.Vice President for Research, University of Vermont

THE STATE OF RESEARCH AT THE COLLEGE

Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D., Interim Senior Associate Dean for Research, UVM Larner College of Medicine

GRADUATE STUDENT TRAINEE RESEARCH SHOWCASE AWARDS

Christopher Berger, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Postdoctoral Training, UVM Larner College of Medicine

TRAINEE AWARDS FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH PUBLICATION Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D.

UVM HEALTH NETWORK MEDICAL GROUP AWARDS Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D.

UVM LARNER COLLEGE OF MEDICINE STAFF AWARDS Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D.

UVM LARNER COLLEGE OF MEDICINE FACULTY AWARDS Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D.

CLOSING

Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D.

GRADUATE STUDENT TRAINEE SHOWCASE AWARD NOMINEES

JUNIOR GRADUATE STUDENTS

Kanayo Ikeh

Zachary Miller

Shannon Prior

Vanessa Marascio

Alicia Finney

Allison Morrissey

Justin Paluba

SENIOR GRADUATE STUDENTS

Montana Lara

Inessa Manuelyan

Alyssa Richman

Bay Vagher

GI M AI Ju PI Ni Do RI St Vi AI Se

TRAINEE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH PUBLICATION NOMINEES

MEDICAL STUDENTS

Jordan Carver

Sandi Caus

Warren Grunvald

Jennifer Holland

Michael Lawson

Samuel Short

Grant Schumaker

Zachary Smith

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Megan Perkins

Alex Thompson, Ph.D.

Julia West

POSTDOCTORAL TRAINEES

Nicholas Klug, Ph.D.

Debora Kamin Mukaz, Ph.D., M.S.

RESIDENTS

Stas Amato, M.D.

Vishu Anekonda, M.D.

Allison Forrest, M.D.

Serena Murphy, M.D.

FACULTY AWARD NOMINEES

CLINICAL TRIALS

Renee Stapleton, M.D., Ph.D. Charlotte Teneback, M.D.

RESEARCH MENTORSHIP

Christopher Berger, Ph.D.

Mary Cushman, M.D., M.Sc.

Robert Gramling, M.D., D.Sc.

Jane Lian, Ph.D.

Bruno Soares, M.D.

Gary Ward, Ph.D.

NEW INVESTIGATOR

Emily Bruce, Ph.D.

Nimrat Chatterjee, Ph.D.

Karen Glass, Ph.D.

Delia Horn, M.D.

Sherrie Khadanga, M.D.

Ellen McGinnis, Ph.D.

Scott Raymond, M.D.

MID-CAREER INVESTIGATOR

Danielle Ehret, M.D., M.P.H. Valerie Harder, Ph.D., M.H.S. C. Matthew Kinsey, M.D., M.P.H. Matthew Wargo, Ph.D.

RESEARCH LAUREATE

Sylvie Doublie, Ph.D. Charles Irvin, Ph.D.

Margaret Vizzard, Ph.D.



STAFF AWARD NOMINEES

CLINICAL RESEARCH COORDINATOR

Stephanie Burns

Laurie Chassereau, R.N., C.C.R.C.

Rebecca Choquette

Melissa Cuke, M.Sc.

Hannah Frering, M.P.H.

Olivia Johnson Garrow, M.S.

Amy Henderson, C.C.R.C.

Kimberly Luebbers, M.S.H.S., R.N.

Lorinda Roberts

Lauren Schiff, M.S.

SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH STAFF

Loredana Asarian

Marya Carmolli

Nancy Graham

Miles Lamberson

Dale Larie

Kyra Lee

Nathaniel Schafrick, M.S., M.P.H.

Scott Tighe

UVM HEALTH NETWORK MEDICAL GROUP AWARD NOMINEES

JUNIOR RESEARCHER OF THE YEAR

Jessica Heath, M.D.

SENIOR RESEARCHER OF THE YEAR

Gary An, M.D.

RESEARCH GRANTS

Emmett Whitaker, M.D. Jonathan Riddell, M.D.

INNOVATION GRANT

Marjorie Meyer, M.D. Carole McBride, Ph.D.

PROFESSIONALISM AT THE LARNER COLLEGE OF MEDICINE

Our Larner College of Medicine community upholds the highest standards of professionalism as we follow our passion for lifelong learning and improvement. We demonstrate professionalism through integrity, accountability, compassion, altruism, and social responsibility. We honor the trust our society has placed in us as stewards of the art and science of medicine, relying on cultural humility, kindness, and respect to guide our daily interactions. We expect all members of our community to embrace these principles of professionalism as we strive to conduct and support patient care, research, and education that are second to none.

