Czyzewski-Jaworski Excellence in Teaching Award

The Czyzewski-Jaworski Excellence in Teaching Award was established by Diane M. Jaworski, Ph.D., who has been on the faculty in the Department of Neurological Sciences at the Larner College of Medicine since 1995. She teaches Neuroscience to a wide array of learners, including undergraduate, graduate, physical therapy, and medical students as well as Neurology residents. Her research focuses on developing therapies to treat glioma tumors, highly malignant brain tumors that originate in the glial cells of the brain. In this capacity, she taught undergraduate, Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. students in the lab. In addition, she has been actively involved in student mentoring as a faculty advisor to the American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) and the Social Justice Coalition. Her commitment to cultural diversity is exemplified by the repeated nomination for and receipt of the AMWA Gender Equity Award, inaugural receipt of the Inclusive Excellence in Medicine Award and service on the Dean's Advisory Committee for Diversity and Inclusion. 

In 2014, Dr. Jaworski was the recipient at the Professor rank of UVM’s Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award which recognizes outstanding educators for their use of learning experiences outside the traditional classroom; capacity to animate and engage students; innovative teaching methods and/or curriculum; commitment to cultural diversity; ability to motivate and challenge students; and excellent advising. Receiving this award and being involved in selecting subsequent recipients as a member of the Kroepsch-Maurice selection committee was a deeply meaningful experience that inspired Dr. Jaworski to establish this fund to provide similar recognition specifically for faculty at the Larner College of Medicine who excel in the art and science of teaching, whether they be clinicians or basic scientists who teach in the classroom, the lab, or the clinic.

The Czyzewski-Jaworski Excellence in Teaching Award is administered under the authority of the Dean of the Larner College of Medicine. To be eligible, the nominee must be a faculty member with rank of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor in the Larner College of Medicine teaching any learner groups (i.e., undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate) and in any learning settings (i.e., classroom, research laboratory, clinic).  Each year one faculty member in each academic rank receives this honor.  Each recipient will receive $1,000.

All full-time LCOM faculty members (Clinical Scholar, Education Scholar, Research Scholar, Tenure-track) engaged in teaching, with the exception of previous award winners, are eligible for the award. Following this screening process, selected nominees will be expected to provide additional materials in support of their nomination. Only those individuals who submit these materials shall be considered a Czyzewski-Jaworski Excellence in Teaching Award nominee.

Areas considered for selection include:

  • Excellence in instruction, including creation of an environment conducive to/encouragement of learning
  • Capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge, understanding, and application
  • Innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development
  • Demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity, inclusive excellence, service to others, and to Advancing Diversity and Inclusion at UVM
  • Ability to motivate, challenge, and inspire students
  • Excellence in advising
  • Adherence to Our Common Ground for lifelong learning:  respect, integrity, innovation, openness, justice, and responsibility (“Education is not preparation for life.  Education is life itself.”  (John Dewey, educator, philosopher, UVM Class of 1879).
  • Commitment to Professionalism at Larner

*Please note: Membership in the Teaching Academy is not a consideration in selection.

The selection process consists of three distinct steps each of which includes committee review:

  1. The nomination (250 words)
  2. A portfolio submission at which point a candidate is considered a nominee
  3. A teaching observation

Nominate a Faculty Member

Submit nominations for a faculty member using this form.  The 2019 submission deadline is September 23, 2019. 

In Memory

Czyzewski and Jaworski posing together in front of a bookshelf

The award is named to memorialize Dr. Jaworski's parents, Jane Jaworski (nee Czyzewski) and Witold ("Victor") Jaworski, for their unwavering support of their daughter's educational pursuits. Victor, a Polish displaced person who immigrated to the United States after World War II, and Jane, who was born in the U.S. to Polish immigrants and wanted to be a nurse, but could not afford university, stressed the importance of education and, as importantly, serving others through deeds of good works. Thus, this award not only recognizes outstanding teaching acumen, but also the personal characteristics espoused by her parents.