Learning Environment and Professionalism (LEAP) Committee

The Learning Environment and Professionalism Committee is composed of faculty, residents, students and staff from the University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine and from the University of Vermont Medical Center. The LEAP Committee is charged with reviewing and recommending initiatives and policies to support professional behavior across the academic medical center and its affiliate training site.

When a student expresses a concern of mistreatment, it is brought to the LEAP Committee in a blinded fashion so that the student (and educator if named) remain(s) anonymous.

The LEAP Committee’s response depends on the severity of the allegation and on whether the source of the mistreatment is identified.

If the source is named, action is taken according to the Mistreatment Response Pyramid. If the source is not named, the Chair of the LEAP Committee informs the relevant department Clerkship Director or Residency Program Director who in turn informs department faculty about the reported mistreatment so that learning climate improvements can be initiated. In order to guard against the potential for retaliatory behavior, all concerns (except those requiring immediate intervention due to safety concerns) are addressed only once final grades have been submitted.

Mistreatment Response Pyramid

Levels 2, 3 and 4 of the pyramid apply when an educator has been named more than one time.

For complete LEAP Committee Charter and process, please review the LEAP Charter.




2023-2024 Members:


  • Melissa Davidson, M.D.
  • Nathalie Feldman, M.D.

Permanent Members:

  • Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education/Designated Institutional Official - Melissa Davidson, M.D.
  • LCOM Director of the Learning Environment - Nathalie Feldman, M.D.
  • Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education - Christa Zehle, M.D.
  • Associate Dean for Students, Karen George, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Assistant Dean for Students, CT Branch Campus - Ellen Kulaga, M.D.
  • Quality Improvement Partner Jeffords Institute for Quality - Julie Cole
  • Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion - Margaret Tandoh, M.D.

Faculty Representatives:

  • Judy Lewis, M.D.
  • Stephen Berns, M.D.

Resident Representatives:

  • Alexander Marchese, M.D.
  • Erin Dagostiono, M.D

Medical Student Representatives:

  • Class of 2024 - Lorena Ayoub (CT campus), Rosie Eiduson, Louisa Moore
  • Class of 2025 - Anirudh Hirve, Kassondra Little, Sofia Toro Alvarez, Richard Vuong (CT campus)
  • Class of 2026 – Shani Legore, Alex Tran, Julia Halvorson-Phelan

Graduate Student Representatives:

  • Selection Fall 2023