Research Committee Mission:

The Department of Medicine is at the forefront of research on both the university’s campus and hospital’s network. Research funding in FY2020, from over 200 individual awards, totaled nearly 17.5 million. Members of the department are active nationally and internationally and are recognized leaders in new scientific knowledge.


With faculty and staff representation from each Division/Center, the Research Committee is focused on facilitating an environment of innovation and collaboration for the department’s diverse interests. We strive to promote an atmosphere of discovery, collaboration, and mentorship across our campus and network in basic, clinical, translational, and commercial research. The deliverables of our work include the development and review of policies and procedures, creating pilot funding opportunities, and ensuring the dissemination of information throughout the department.


Research Committee Members 

Michael Toth, Ph.D.

Vice Chair, Research

Mary Cushman, M.D., MSc

Vice Chair for Emerging Researchers

Steven Ades, M.D.



Ralph Budd, M.D.


Melanie Bui, M.D., Ph.D.


Katharine Cheung, M.D., Ph.D.


Christopher Huston, M.D.

Infectious Disease

Steven Lidofsky, M.D., Ph.D

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Matthew Poynter, Ph.D.

Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine

Allen Repp, M.D.

Hospital Medicine

Renee Stapleton, M.D., Ph.D.

Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine

Daniel Weiss, M.D., Ph.D.

Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine

Michaelanne Rowen, BSN, RN

Clinical Research Manager

Bridget Carney, CRA

Grant Proposal Manager

DOM Pre-Award Office

Tina Mazuzan

DOM Administrator



Department of Medicine Research