2018 Retreat - group photo with Dr. Susan Amara

Annual Research Retreat

Each fall, the Department of Pharmacology gathers to celebrate research from its laboratories. This Retreat fosters interaction among various labs, encouraging professional cooperation and explaining the scope and breadth of their research.  Individual and poster presentations, along with lively discussion, are enjoyed throughout the Retreat.  The 20th Annual Retreat was held at the UVM Alumni House in Burlington, Vermont and was partially supported by contributions from MED Associates, and Catamount Research  in St. Albans, VT.

The 2019 Annual Pharmacology Research Retreat was held on November 7th, 2019. Our guest speaker was Serge Charpak, M.D., Ph.D., Research Director - Inserm, University of Paris 7-Denis Diderot, Paris, France presenting "Brain activation:  Bridging the gap between cellular microscopic and vascular mesoscopic signals".


Graduate Students and Postdocs/Junior Faculty giving presentations and displaying posters will judged for the Durwood J. Smith awards. Congratulations to 2019 D.J. Smith Award winners:


  • Best Presentation by a Graduate Student:  Kathyrn Svec
  • Best Presentation by a Postdoc:  Nicholas R. Klug, Ph.D. 
  • Best Poster by a Graduate Student:  Eric Bolf
  • Best Poster by a Postdoc:  Nyla Naim, Ph.D. 
  • Best Section Chair:  Amanda Senatore
Past Retreats
Date HeldGuest Speaker(s)
November 7, 2019
                 Serge Charpak, M.D., Ph.D., Research Director - INSERM, University of Paris, 7-DenisSerge Charpak, M.D., Ph.D., Research Director, INSERM, Paris, FRDiderot, Paris, France
November 13-14, 2018               Susan G. Amara, Ph.D., Scientific Director, Intramural Research Program, National Institute of Mental Health, NIH, Bethesda, MDSusan Amara, Ph.D.
November 14-15, 2017Jaime Grutzendler, M.D., Yale UniversityJaime Grutzendler, M.D., Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience, Vice-Chair for Research (Basic), Director for the Center for Experimental Neuroimaging, Director, Clinician Neuroscientist Training Program (CNSTP), Yale University, School of Medicine, New Haven, CT
November 5-6, 2015

David Kleinfeld, Ph.D.  David Kleinfeld, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Experimental Biophysics Endowed Chair, 

  Department of Physics, from University of California at San Diego

November 13-14, 2014

J. Kevin Fosket, Ph.D.  J. Kevin Foskett, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology, from University of


November 7-8, 2013

Kurt G. Beam, Ph.D.  Kurt Beam, Ph.D. from University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus





Luis Fernando Santana  Luis Fernando Santana, Ph.D. from University of Washington

November 6-7, 2012

Costantino Iadecola, M.D.  Costantino Iadecola, M.D. from Weill Cornell Medical College





Edith Hamel, Ph.D.  Edith Hamel, Ph.D. from McGill University

October 27-28, 2011

Anne Joutel, Ph.D.  Anne Joutel, M.D., Ph.D from University Paris




Dale A. Pelligrino, Ph.D.  Dale Pelligrino, Ph.D. from University of Illinois

October 28-29, 2010

Phillip G. Haydon, Ph.D.  Philip Haydon, Ph.D. from Tufts University School of Medicine





Andrew R. Marks, M.D.  Andrew Marks, M.D. from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons




Soren-Peter Olesen PhD  Soren-Peter Olesen, M.D., Ph.D from Univeristy of Copenhagen

October 29-30, 2009

Avril V. Somlyo, Ph.D.  Avril Somlyo, Ph.D. from University of Virginia School of Medicine




John Garthwaite, Ph.D.  John Garthwaite, Ph.D. from University College London

November 6-7, 2008

  Richard S.Richard S. Lewis, Ph.D. Lewis, Ph.D. from Stanford School of Medicine




Richard W. Aldrich, Ph.D.  Richard W. Aldrich, Ph.D. from University of Texas at Austin

November 1-2, 2007

Nicholas Standen, Ph.D.  Nicholas Standen, Ph.D. from University of Leicester




Robert S. Kass, Ph.D.  Robert S. Kass, Ph.D. from Columbia University

November 2-3, 2006Michael Mendelson, Ph.D.  Michael Mendelsohn, M.D. from Tufts University
November 3-4, 2005David Clapham, M.D., Ph.D.  David Clapham, M.D., Ph.D. from Harvard Medical School